2024-05-23T16:42:13+08:002024-05-23|News&Events, Events|

The Distinguished Lecture on “Non-isolated AC-DC Converters” will take place as follows:

Date: 30 May 2024 (Thu)

Time: 4:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. 

Venue: Research Building N21, GF, Room G013

The speaker is:

Prof. JIANG Junmin, Associate Professor, Southern University of Science and Technology


The Lecture is:

Non-isolated AC-DC Converters



Smart homes and smart buildings require numerous offline devices such as IoT nodes, object sensors, smoke detectors, etc. Those devices usually get power from the AC main voltage and require converters to directly convert a universal 85-to-264Vac down to 3-to-4.2Vdc battery voltages. Non-isolated AC-DC converters feature compact size, low cost, and easy deployment, and are in huge demand in recent years. This presentation presents an 85-264 Vac to 3-4.2 Vdc 1.05W capacitive power converter, consisting of a three-mode AC-DC rectifier and a 4-phase 1/10× SC DC-DC converter with only 3 flying capacitors. A 78.2% peak efficiency, 5.11mW idle power, and 1.05W output power is achieved with reduced output ripple and increased power density.



Prof. JIANG Junmin (S’09-M’18) received the B.Eng. degree in Electronic and Information Engineering from Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China, in 2011, and the Ph.D. degree in Electronic and Computer Engineering from The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST), Hong Kong, in 2017. He was a Visiting Scholar with the State Key Laboratory of AMSV, University of Macau, Macau, in 2015, and was a Post-Doctoral Fellow with HKUST, in 2017. He was an Analog Design Engineer with Kilby Labs Silicon Valley, Texas Instruments, Santa Clara, CA, USA, from 2018 to 2021. In 2021, he joined the Southern University of Science and Technology (SUSTech), Shenzhen, China, where he is currently an Associate Professor. His current research interests include power management IC design, especially in switched-mode power converter design. Prof. JIANG serves as an Associate Editor and Guest Editor of IEEE TCAS2, and a Review Committee Member of IEEE ISCAS from 2021 to 2023. He was a recipient of the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (SSCS) Student Travel Grant Award 2015, the Analog Devices Inc. (ADI) Outstanding Student Designer Award in 2015, the Solomon Systech Scholarship in 2017, the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (SSCS) Pre-Doctoral Achievement Award 2016–2017, the ASP-DAC University LSI Design Contest Special Feature Award in 2018, the Texas Instruments Patent Awards in 2019-2020, the NSFC Excellent Young Scientists Fund (Overseas) in 2022.


For more details, kindly find the event poster, abstract and bio.