无线和多学科创新中心(WMIC

研究目标是研发可用于解决实际问题的实用电路技术,以及从概念到解决方案的电路和系统设计,以满足无线产业的发展需求。开发先进的微/混合系统,用于人体、生物和化学相关的研究,包括以下几个主要方向:

  • 可用于低功耗低成本无线连接(如物联网)的超低功耗ZigBee及蓝牙低功耗无线电
  • 用于5G通信的软性宽带接收器和发射器
  • 高性能和高功率及面积效率的微瓦级功率仿真电路
  • 软件定义的智能数字微流控
  • 用于精准医疗的便携式核磁共振(NMR)电子系统
  • 超低功耗太阳能供电CMOS植入式生物医学传感器芯片

无线IC

主要针对射频和毫米波集成电路芯片的各种不同应用开发,包括但不限于,3G / 4G / 5G多标准手机应用,超低成本超低功耗的物联网无线芯片应用,以及数十兆赫的无线电微核磁共振(μNMR)应用等。

研究方向包括:

  • 6千兆赫以下,2G / 3G / 4G无线收发器前端,和高于 28千兆赫收发器前端技术。使用本研究组提出的增益提高多路径滤波技术,目标 射频接收器和发射器上的无SAW滤波器设计。
  • 超低功耗物联网收发器前端研究,操作频率从千兆赫以下到 4千兆赫,设计符合蓝牙低能源(BLE)、ZigBee和NB-IoT等标准。超低成本和超低功耗射频和模拟基带使用研究组提出的一系列技术:如函数重用、增益提升多路径接收器、射频至模拟基频电流重用接收器、振震器与功率放大器功能重用和超低电压接收器、发射器和频率合成器使用本地微电源管理技术等。
  • 仿真基带电路:如具有高电容负载驱动能力的微功率放大器、非常小晶圆面积的连续时间/离散时间滤波器、高效能的能量收集单元、低噪音读出接口之传感器和低启动能量的晶体振荡器。
  • 射频/毫米波电路:如有源电感增强宽带放大器、多谐波增强整波压控振荡器(VCO) 、高调频范围时间交错环形振荡器、和超低电压第一型(Type-I) 锁相环路。
  • 数字基带校正技术:致力刻服宽带发射器的I / Q相位不匹配,本地振荡(LO)馈通和强记忆效应所产生的失真等问题。
  • 具有传感线圈(片内/片外螺旋电感器)的数十兆赫(例如20兆赫)收发器,实现在小尺寸仪器内进行电子自动化生物和化学分析研究。

本研究组的发明技术有望推进领域中最前沿的知识,同时在特定应用中转化为商用产品。

生物医学及多学科IC

研究重点是可应用于人类,生物和化学研究的先进微型/混合系统。 主要的研究方向是:

  • 先进的小动物行为电子平台研究。研究用于同步细胞外电生理学记录和光遗传神经操作的小型化电路/ 系统单芯片。
  • 微型超声波传感器用于生物成像和测量。 新型膜结构CMUT,基于MEMS技术设计和制造以提高输出超声波压力。 研究多频CMUT,以扩展光声成像的成像能力。
  • 研究通过物理层和媒体访问控制(MAC)层的体内通信及其芯片实现的方式。
  • 内置多任务能力的微处理器,用于生物医学工程应用,微处理器可进一步用作相关应用的ASIC开发平台。
  • 超低功耗与具能量收集功能之CMOS生物医学植入式传感芯片。 研究具有各能量来源的单芯片能量收集解决方案,用于低电压操作,具高效率和超小系统体积的优点。
  • 超低功率生物电接口电路。 研究奈瓦特(nW)仿真信号处理和滤波器,重点在奈瓦特电路设计,次临限状态运算,线性改善和增益补偿。
  • 数字微流控芯片与智能软件定义功能。 研究用于精确微滴分离的片上3D结构,用于精确微滴定位的模糊逻辑和实时反馈, 非直流驱动电压波形等方法以提升微滴的移动速度。

预期研究组发明的技术将在性能和研究过程对科学理解等提高最新的技术水平,并且部分成果可以转化为实际的应用。

Wireless and Multidisciplinary Innovation Center (WMIC)

To develop circuit techniques devoted to practical problems, to invent new concept-to-solution designs to underpin the development of wireless industry, and to develop advanced micro/hybrid systems that can be applicable to human beings, with research in biology and chemistry. Several key directions are highlighted:

  • Ultra-low-power ZigBee and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) radios for low-power low-cost wireless connectivity such as Internet of Things.
  • Wideband flexible receivers and transmitters for 5G communications.
  • Micro-power analog circuits with enhanced performances, power and area efficiencies.
  • Electronics-automated digital microfluidics with software-defined intelligence.
  • Portable nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) electronics for precision medicine.
  • Ultra-low-power solar-powered CMOS/beyond-CMOS sensing chips.

Wireless IC

This research line focuses on RF and mmWave ICs for a wide variety of applications, including but not limited to, 3G/4G/5G multi-standard cellular radios, ultra-low-cost ultra-low-power IoT radios, and tens-of-MHz radios for micro-nuclear magnetic resonance (μNMR) applications. The key research interests are:

  • Sub-6GHz 2G/3G/4G wireless transceiver front-ends, and >28GHz 5G transceiver front-ends. SAW-less RF-flexible receivers and transmitters using our proposed gain-boosted N-path filter techniques are investigated.
  • Ultra-low-power IoT transceiver front-ends from sub-GHz to 2.4GHz, conforming to Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), ZigBee and NB-IoT. Ultra-low-cost and ultra-low-power RF and baseband (BB) techniques using our proposed function-reuse gain-boosted N-path receiver, RF-to-BB-current-reuse receiver, function-reuse VCO-PA, and ultra-low voltage receiver, transmitter and frequency synthesizer using a local micro-power manager are investigated.
  • Analog baseband circuits such as micro-power amplifiers with high capacitive load drivability, continuous-time/discrete-time filters with a very compact chip area, energy harvesting units with high efficiency, sensor readout interfaces with low noise effective factor, and crystal oscillators with low startup energy are investigated.
  • RF/mmWave circuits such as active-inductor-enhanced wideband amplifiers, multi harmonic-peaking wave-shaping VCOs, time-interleaved ring oscillators with a wide tuning range, and type-I phased-locked loops with ultra-low-voltage operation are investigated.
  • Digital baseband correction techniques for I/Q mismatch, LO feedthrough and strong memory-effect distortion in wideband transmitters are investigated.
  • Tens-of-MHz (e.g., 20MHz) transceivers with a sensing coil (on/off-chip spiral inductor) to allow electronic-automated biological and chemical assays in a small form factor.

The invented techniques are expected to advance the state-of-the-art knowledge in the fields, and should be potentially transferrable to the industry for practical applications.

Biomedical and Multidisciplinary IC

The research line focuses on advanced micro/hybrid systems that can be applicable to human beings, biological and chemistry researches. The key research interests are:

  • Advanced electronics platform for small animal behavioral study. Miniaturized circuit/SoC for simultaneous extracellular electrophysiology recording and optogenetic neural manipulation is studied.
  • Micro ultrasound transducer for biological imaging and measurement. New membrane structure CMUT is designed and fabricated based on MEMS technology to enhance the output ultrasonic pressure. Multi-frequency CMUT is investigated to extend the imaging capability of photoacoustic imaging.
  • Intra-body Communication with study in physical layer and MAC layer and their IC implementation.
  • Microprocessor with built-in multi-tasking ability for biomedical engineering applications. This can be used as a platform for ASIC development for related applications.
  • Ultra-low-power energy harvesting CMOS biomedical implantable sensing chip. Single-chip energy harvesting solution with various ambient sources for low voltage operation, high efficiency and ultra-compact form factor are investigated.
  • Ultra-low power biopotential interfacing circuit. Nanowatt analog signal processing and filtering is studied, focusing on nanowatt circuit design, subthreshold operation, linearity improvement and gain compensation.
  • Digital microfluidic chips with software-defined intelligence. On-chip 3D structures for precise droplet splitting, fuzzy-logic and real-time feedback for precise droplet positioning, and non-DC driving voltage waveforms for higher droplet moving speed are investigated.

The invented techniques are expected to advance the state-of-the-art in terms of performances and understanding, and should be transferrable to the industry for practical applications.